Home > Family, Weekend > Time To Pay The Piper

Time To Pay The Piper

Well another long weekend trip away and another 5lbs put back on.  This morning the scale told me that I was 217lbs.  Bad news for sure, but Sunday morning I was 219.2 … so I guess that is good?  But I am putting all the summer fun and distractions aside.  No big eating related events until the Civic long weekend.  Chris and Tanya from the Wellness center at work are going to help me get back on track.  By help, we mean pay for my transgressions.  Hopefully I live through it.

Heidi and I took Friday off to have the 4-day long weekend.  The family (Guinness included) went camping, this time in an actual tent with no electricity to be found.  A little more hardcore then our previous round in my dad’s huge trailer.  We were at a friend’s grandmothers farm.  The family has cut out a big chunk of land for the camp with a big trail to a small, semi-private lake.  It is really nice as there is a collection of families with kids that were there so we didn’t have to entertain Travis every minute, plus Guinness could run around free (and use his skills on the people around to eat like a king).  The weather was great and camping seemed to be a success.  I think we have 2 other trips in the planning stages this year.

The one thing I did miss this year while ‘off the grid’ was my favourite Fourth of July tradition … the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating competition.  It just read about the results this evening.  The great Joey Chestnut managed to retain the mustard belt, winning for the 4th year in a row.  This year he put away 54 hot dogs in 10 minutes, pretty good but no where near his world record.  Like all top level athletic events such as this there was controversy.  Apparently Kobayashi, the previous champ and 3 time runner up did not partake this year.  He was unwilling to sign the MLE (major league eating) contract to compete in the event.  But he still showed up, crashed the event and was arrested.

Categories: Family, Weekend
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment